Despina Apostolou

The pianist Despina Apostolou is an internationally acclaimed soloist, chamber musician and répétiteur. She has had solo performances all over Europe, in South Africa, and South America, as well as at internationally acclaimed venues such as the Alte Oper Frankfurt, the Gasteig in Munich, the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels, the Theatre Royal in Namur, the Halles in Schaerbeek, the Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City and the Teatro Municipal de las Condes in Santiago de Chile. Born in Thessaloniki, she studied at the New Conservatory of Thessaloniki, the National Academy of Music in Sofia, and the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts. She has studied with Stella Dimitrova, Catherine Vickers, and Bernhard Wetz, among others.

Professor R. Hoffmann, E. Feltz, F. Rieger, H. Buchberger, U.Wiget and S. Schilling were all sources of inspiration for her chamber music career. She has also taken part in a number of master classes in piano and chamber music, held by P. B. Scoda, Julia und Konstantin Ganev, Nelly Ben Or, Lev Natochenny, S. Sargend, D. Evnouhidou and G. Hatzinikos.
Despina Apostolou was awarded a scholarship by the Frankfurt Rotary Club and was supported by the Paxos Festival, founded by the Ensemble Modern, as well as the International Chamber Music Festival Niedersachsen, and the Onassis Foundation.

Her interest in new forms of concert practice led her to present both the scenic concert “metaSchema – Alban Berg” – along with artists from the Frankfurt Opera, the Ensemble Modern Akademie, the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts (HfMDK), and the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen – and the “Bibliothek des Vergessens” (The Library of Forgetting) – an exhibition and music installation at the Goethe University in Frankfurt. In 2011, she took on the role of co-chairperson to the Frankfurter Gesellschaft für Neue Musik (FGNM) and co-curator of the concert series “FERNBEZIEHUNG”. Despina Apostolou takes a very active interest in the promotion of music education for the next generation. This has led her to participate in the Response project implemented by the HfMDK, which brings students in contact with new music.

Despina Apostolour regularly performs with mezzo-soprano Alexandra Gravas and also takes part in many other chamber music projects with excellent performers. She has worked with a number of soloists, including Emanuel Borok, Juanita Lascarro, Anne-Catherine Heinzmann, Christina Fassbender, Benoit Fromanger, and Dimitar Ivanov. Her regular chamber music partners include the flautist Natalia Gerakis and the pianist Samsonowski Ulbrich. She co-founded the ensemble kLANGdIVERS.

Besides her solo and chamber performances, Despina Apostolou is also much sought after as a répétiteur and has accompanied master classes by Adras Adorjan, Anne Catherine Heinzmann, Oleg Poghanovski, Lars Björnklaer, Nikos Nikopoulos, and Vassilis Papavasiliou. In addition, she acted as a répétiteur at the Cyclades Musiksommerakademie in 2009, the Flutemeetings in 2006, 2007, and 2009 and in Rheinsberg in 2010.

Despina Apostolou

Die Pianistin Despina Apostolou ist eine gefragte Solistin, Kammermusikerin und Korrepetitorin. Im Zuge ihrer internationalen Konzerttätigkeit ist sie in ganz Europa, in Südafrika und Südamerika aufgetreten, sowie in renommierten Sälen wie der Alten Oper Frankfurt, dem Gasteig München, dem Palais des Beaux Arts Brüssel, dem Theatre Royal Namur, den Halles Schaerbeek, dem Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City und dem Teatro Municipal de las Condes in Santiago de Chile. Sie wurde in Thessaloniki geboren, studierte zunächst am Neuen Konservatorium in Thessaloniki (Griechenland), an der Nationalen Musikakademie Sofia (Bulgarien) und schließlich an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt am Main. Zu ihren Lehrern gehörten Stella Dimitrova, Catherine Vickers und Bernhard Wetz.

Kammermusikalische Anregungen erhielt sie u.a. von Prof. R. Hoffmann, E. Feltz, F. Rieger, H. Buchberger, U.Wiget und S. Schilling. Sie hat an zahlreichen Klavier- und Kammermusik-Meisterkursen teilgenommen, u. a. bei P. B. Scoda, Julia und Konstantin Ganev, Nelly Ben Or, Lev Natochenny, S. Sargend, D. Evnouhidou und G. Hatzinikos.
Despina Apostolou- ist ehemalige Stipendiatin des Rotary Clubs Frankfurt und wurde u.a. im Rahmen des vom Ensemble Modern ins Leben gerufenen Paxos-Festivals, vom Internationalen Kammermusik-Festival Niedersachsen und von der Onassis Stiftung gefördert.

Ergebnisse ihres Interesses an neuen Formen der Konzertpraxis waren das szenische Konzert „metaSchema- Alban Berg“, das sie zusammen mit Künstlern der Oper Frankfurt, dem Ensemble Modern Akademie, der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst (Frankfurt) und dem Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Giessen präsentierte, sowie die „Bibliothek des Vergessens“ – eine Ausstellung-Musik-Installation an der Goethe Uni  Frankfurt. Seit 2011 ist sie stellv. Vorsitzende der Frankfurter Gesellschaft für Neue Musik (FGNM) und Mitkuratorin der Konzertreihe „FERNBEZIEHUNG“. Musikförderung für die kommende Generation ist für die Pianistin ein sehr wichtiges Anliegen. Aus diesem Grund betätigt sie sich an dem Response Projekt, einem Projekt der HfMDK, welches bei Schülerinnen und Schülern den lebendigen Prozess der Begegnung und Auseinandersetzung mit Neuer Musik fördert.

Despina Apostolou arbeitet regemäßig mit der Mezzo-Sopranistin Alexandra Gravas zusammen und ist außerdem an vielen anderen kammermusikalischen Projekten mit ausgezeichneten Musikern beteiligt. Sie arbeitete mit zahlreichen Solisten wie Emanuel Borok, Juanita Lascarro, Anne-Catherine Heinzmann, Christina Fassbender, Benoit Fromanger und Dimitar Ivanov zusammen. Zu Ihren Kammermusikpartnern gehören die Flötistin Natalia Gerakis und der Pianist Jeferson Samsonowski Ulbrich. Sie ist Mitgründerin des Ensembles kLANGdIVERS.

Die Pianistin und Kammermusikerin wird auch als Korrepetitorin sehr geschätzt und hat Meisterkurse von Adras Adorjan, Anne Catherine Heinzmann, Oleg Poghanovski, Lars Björnklaer, Nikos Nikopoulos und Vassilis Papavasiliou begleitet. Zudem war sie Korrepetitorin der Cyclades Musiksommerakademie 2009, bei den Flutemeetings 2006, 2007, 2009 und Rheinsberg 2010.